The 2018 Jefferson Awards

NYC National Ceremony

America's most prestigious celebration of public service

March 12th, 2018
583 Park Avenue, New York, NY

Join the 46th Jefferson Awards National Ceremony, celebrating the best of public service. At a time of great division, this gala will give all Americans something to celebrate – the heroes among us and the good we do for one another. This event is our largest fundraiser, and your tickets will power us to keep changing lives and impacting communities across the country through public service.   

Our Honorees

Alexis Jones
Founder, I Am That Girl & ProtectHer

Alexis founded the 501c3 nonprofit I AM THAT GIRL, which currently has 1M+ girls involved and chapters in over 20 countries. She is an internationally recognized author, activist, speaker, and media personality. She recently founded ProtectHer, a locker room program educating male athletes on the importance of respecting women.

Outstanding Public Service by a Corporation

Mastercard contributes to a sustainable future in everything they do, every day. Their global efforts involve advancing social sustainability, conducting business in an open and transparent way and responsibly managing their environmental footprint.


Shaquille O'Neal
Athlete & Philanthropist

Shaq is a member of the NBA Hall of Fame. He teamed up with the Boys & Girls Clubs of America when he was drafted in 1992. His relationship with the group dates back to his youth in Newark, and he has put on several long-standing events in conjunction with Boys & Girls Clubs including Shaq-A-Claus, Shaqs-giving, and Toys for Tots.

Bryan Stevenson
Founder and Executive Director, Equal Justice Initiative

EJI has won major legal challenges eliminating excessive and unfair sentencing, exonerating innocent death row prisoners, confronting abuse of the incarcerated and the mentally ill and aiding children prosecuted as adults. Mr. Stevenson recently won an historic ruling in the U.S. Supreme Court banning mandatory life-without-parole sentences for all children 17 or younger.